Riki Inocente – The Northern Rose Remixes Pt 1

March 13, 2016 in Singles

Riki Inocent The Northern Rose Remixes Pt 1 RejektsWe ended last night in quite ‘up’ territory, so let’s kick off there again tonight with this superb three-tracker from Iain Taylor’s Rejekts label.

First out in October last year, here Riki Inocente’s Northern Rose EP gets the remix treatment on this first EP in a series of two. Jamie Trench’s No Horn Dub takes The Journey into squelchy, bassy 3am territory, while Jem Haynes’ rerub of Mood 5 has something of a late-90s Nite Grooves kinda feel; both are quality, but the standout comes in the form of the label boss’s take on The Journey, which sees the track transformed into an unholy and utterly devastating cocktail of a dark, rumbling speed garage bassline and warping, spacey atmospheric synths.

Outstanding stuff that’ll rock any house floor worthy of the name.

Out: This week

About: You can find Rejekts on Soundcloud, on Facebook or at their own website.

Various – Colour Series Vol 1

July 12, 2013 in Singles

Various Colour Series Vol 1Another label make their TIWWD debut today… and this time, with their very first release.

Not to be confused with the Freerange album series of the same name, Colour Series Vol 1 features 11 tracks of top-drawer tech-leaning deep house. Label boss and Space Discoteca resident Jem Haynes contributes no fewer than seven of those 11 cuts, either solo or with Mike Peters or Ian Blevins. Rick Grant contributes one and Sam Chorlton (who you should know from releases on Sounds Of Juan) the remaining four.

With tracks ranging from Chorlton’s deep n’ contemplative (and aptly-titled) Reflections, to the dark and menacing Dusavik (also from Chorlton) and the garage-tinged Fly Back from Haynes & Blevins, it’s an impressive first salvo, and well worth checking out.

Out: This week

About: You can find Colour Series on Facebook, on Soundcloud or at their own website.